Note to World #257

My little girl and I talked about Nelson Mandela this morning over our cereal: me, Kashi Go Lean and her, Cocoa Rice Krispies.

She connected my words to a book she read in school. And then she wandered around the house saying Mandela’s name out loud again and again because she wanted to remember it – and him. She wanted to talk to her teacher about Nelson Mandela and his relationship to Maniac Magee.

I was delighted to see my daughter make these connections and be excited by them. And equally happy to finish the rest of her chocolatey Rice Krispies. Soooo much better than Kashi Go Lean.

We’ll have to meet for cereal more often….

Leave a Reply

